AIA-TAP BIM Repeat Award Winners: Strengths and Opportunities

Oct 01, 2009

In 2005, the American Institute of Architects Technology in Architectural Practice (AIA-TAP) recognized its first annual BIM Award winners. After five installments, these award winners have come to represent the very best BIMs in the world. Of this elite group, some firms have been honored more than once, making them the “best of the best.” This article will discuss three repeat award winning firms and the evaluation of each using the National BIM Standard’s® (NBIMS) Interactive Capability Maturity Model (I-CMM) as a basis for objective analysis of their information management maturity strengths and opportunities. Note: You can start using the I-CMM to evaluate your own BIMs right now! Visit The three “best of the best” firms highlighted here are Morphosis, KieranTimberlake, and Mortenson Construction. Each firm’s pproach and project execution in BIM differs, but all represent a common characteristic of nnovation and creativity.

Major Patrick Suermann, PhD, PE, LEED AP
Tammy McCuen, LEED AP
Journal of Building Information Modeling (JBIM) National Institute of Building Sciences
Published & professionally reviewed by: 
buildingSMART alliance (National Institute of Building Sciences)

Community Reviews

No votes yet