Seven Principles of Life-Enhancing Design: The Architecture of Erik Asmussen

Jul 01, 2000

This paper presents a summary overview of the seven principles that are the basis for Danish-born Swedish architect Erik Asmussen’s (1913–1998) healing architecture:

1) the unity of form and function;
2) polarity;
3) metamorphosis;
4) harmony with nature and site;
5) the living wall;
6) color luminosity and color perspective;
7) the dynamic equilibrium of spatial experience

The author proposes that the seven principles constitute a theoretical basis for a holistic approach to healthcare design.

Gary J. Coates (Kansas State University)
Presented at: 
Design & Health World Congress & Exhibition (WCDH 2000, Stockholm)
Published & professionally reviewed by: 
The International Academy for Design and Health

Community Reviews

No votes yet

Add comment

Log in to post comments