Innovative Learning Environments: Design Awards Meets Research Evidence

Dec 31, 2012

The American Institute of Architects Committee on Architecture for Education (CAE) grants annual design awards to educational facilities that exceed expectations through innovation, exemplify quality design, and further the goals and missions of the clients. As the 2012 American Institute of Architects (AIA) Education Research Scholar, Kelly Martinez, Assoc. AIA, selected four schools from the past three years of award winners to serve as case studies based on the stated project challenges and features, the success of those goals, and the impact on education. As a way to further examine the award-winning schools, her research attempts to understand the design qualities and features, how they are used by the building occupants, and combine the design information with research to support learning and teaching. The four schools are: Mothers’ Club Family Learning Center, LearningSpring School, Redding School of the Arts, and Kathlyn Joy Gilliam Collegiate Academy.

Kelly Martinez, Assoc. AIA
Published & professionally reviewed by: 
The American Institute of Architects

Community Reviews

No votes yet
Research Format: 
Research Use: